Sports HoF



All State List

Event Photos

Watch slides of the 2008 Inductees, High speed Connection is Recommended

View the 2012 Program pages, Details are included.

Inductees:  2008 through 2012

The Sports and Spirit Hall of Fame Committee is to announce the names of those individuals who were the first Honorees in the new Bossier High School Alumni Sports & Spirit Hall of Fame.

Our State Championship Teams were also inducted as well as some "first" teams.

The focus of this years HoF inductions was to reflect on the major Bossier High School sports from 1917 through the 80s. In subsequent years, we will expand and focus on each sport, and all years from 1917 to the present. Our goal is to build a solid base for the many male and female athletes and supporting groups and individuals.

2008 Sport & Spirit Hall of Fame:

1926 Football Team - First Bearkats
1933 Football Team - The Perfect Season, undefeated, unscored on in regular season.
Bossier City Lions Club - the De facto Quarterback Club from the early years.
1942 Football Team - First State Champions
Quincy Lincecum Ropp - Spirit of the BHS Marching Band
1948 Football Team - Second State Champions
Bobby Ray McHalffey - All State Basketball
1949-50-51 Track & Fields Teams - Three-pete State Champions
Henry N. Brown - All-State and High School All-American, LSU
George Nattin, Jr. - All-State, All American and All-SEC LSU
1960 Basketball Team - State Basketball Champions
Joe McNeely - All-American, LA Tech National Championship
Tim Dement - Olympic Boxer
Tamiko Frank - All State Girls Basketball
Tony Moss - All-State, Record Setting Running Back, LSU
Ashley Brown Jackson - 2007 Louisiana's High School , P. E. Teacher of the Year
Linda Webb Killen - 2007 Louisiana's Elementary P. E. School Teacher of the Year
Sportsman of The Year Award - Randel H. Kirkland, Jr.

2009 Sport & Spirit Hall of Fame:

Ken Kruithof '66, Sportsman of the Year;
Judy Anderson, Faculty;
Chuck Birtman, Faculty;
Jerry Byrd, student;
Craig Knight '71;
Coach T. K. Henry, Faculty;
Frank Lampkin, Faculty;
Coach Thomas and Frances Mitchell, Faculty &'66;
Coach Billy Don McHalffey '70;
Buddy Roemer '60;
Bill Tynes '68;
Wayne Walker '62;
Randy Walker '69

2010 Sport & Spirit Hall of Fame:

Bobby Joe Howell '57;
J.C. Howell '51;
Bill Howell '50;
Joe Reding '63;
Richard " Dick "Reding '62;
Coach E.L Reding (Faculty);
Ron Smith '59;
J.W. Slack '54;
Tony Montalbano '50;
Billy Ross Robinson '46;
Eugene (Red) Knight '42;
Coach Jeremiah Williams - Sportsman of the Year

2011 Sport & Spirit Hall of Fame:

Joe Maggio and Family; Sportsman of the Year

Billy Davidson '43;
Adair Cox '53;
Nealan Prather '64;
Coach Bobby Joe Rusley '75;
Mike Almond '74;
Coach John Ropp '55,Faculty

2012 Sport & Spirit Hall of Fame:

Charles Shackleford & Jo Gibson, Sportsman of the Year
Eugene Yarborough '49
Donald Millen '51
Charles Norcross '70
Freddy Shewmake '58
Sharon Kay Bass Swope '62
Margaret Roemer Lefler '62
Danny Roemer '63
Jim O. Coleman '61